Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.6 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.2 stars

Based on 5476 customer ratings since 2019-08-06 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3096 Customer Reviews for Plusnet

  • Showing page 1 of 78, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Any review with more than 1 star is paid - for don't believe them

I made the mistake of switching to plusnet because they're chaper - BIG MISTAKE - This company is beyond a joke


They left me without broadband for days while I am working from home.


The website barely works so I spent several hours per day waiting on hold to speak to anyone from customer services. Eventually when I got through to someone they tell me false information and that the internet will be ready on a certain date when it isn't.

They simply don't care. Finally we cancelled our contract. This is the worst company I have ever had the bad fortune to deal with.
Fleet Plusnet  
Absolute rubbish!!! Follow on from my review last week. Still no internet. Sent engineer out who checked phone line...said no Broadband going through line and I need to contact Plusnet themselves. Informed by Plusnet they had sent phone engineer and need to be a specialist engineer. Arranged 1 for today between 1pm and 6pm. Arranged time off work AGAIN!!!! No contact message from Bt advising of appointment so rung Plusnet TWICE. informed engineer WILL be coming. Just had a call from Plusnet (17.00pm) advising no engineer coming as appointment did NOT go through AGAIN!!!!!!. WHAT A WASTE OF SPACE. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. Trying to cancel my package after only 1month. Surely I have a good case if they have the cheek to take me to court.
Bradford Plusnet  
Joined Plusnet in February because of spiralling costs with another company. I have never looked back, a little bit of buffering during lock down, but fine now. Would recommend.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Barnsley Plusnet  
I never use any worse broadband like Plusnet. Our office broadband always be disconnected automatically.We wasted much time to wait for reconnection. I will definitely cancle the service after the contract expired and never use it. I do not recommend others to choose this broadband unless you do not care the reliability.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bruce building, 115 Percy Street, Newcastle upon Tyne Plusnet  
NO STARS!!! I was informed when switching online that my Internet service would be live on 3rd Aug (today). The router arrived last week. Plusnet text this morning stating phone line now live, but WiFi going live midnight tomorrow: Never experienced separate dates for phone /Internet going live, didn't know that was possible! So much for promised'seamless transition'!!! Cannot get through to customer service on phone as they are not accepting calls. Now unable to work from home. Looking to cancel contract and switch to another provider. Regretting leaving Sky, speed was extremely slow but at least we had Internet! DO NOT SIGN UP TO THIS COMPANY, THE POSITIVE REVIEWS ARE TOTALLY MISLEADING, SERVICE IS NOT JUST ATROCIOUS, ITS NON-EXISTENT!!!
Manchester Plusnet  
On the whole excellent. Just one gremlin that stops me giving 5*. Recently bought LG tv from John Lewis along with their +Net broadband. When watching All 4 app in particular Walter or Netflix, it is at times slow to load and sometimes unavailable. Mystified as on our iphones, tablets, laptops and PC it is very fast and never any problems. Any advice?
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Wissett Plusnet  
As the Plusnet customer service repeatedly made mistakes at the renewal of our broadband contract, this time I left for Shell energy. I should have done earlier. I discovered Plusnet Unlimited Broadband was slow and unreliable at hindsight. Transfer was very smooth. If you don't want to waste your time , avoid Plusnet.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
South west Plusnet  
Day 1.internet down. Half an hr waiting on phone, did checks, advised would request a check. No update.
Day 2. Advised engineer had been out half an hour after my previous day call and reported the problem had been resolved.....obviously not!!!! No courtesy call to see if it had...still no internet. Advised engineer had been booked to come to premises between 8am and 1pm. Email received to confirm this.
Day 3. 12.15pm still no engineer. Half an hr on phone waiting again!!!!....only to be told the visit had been REJECTED!!!!!!. advised another visit would be booked and get back to me to confirm.
Call back in afternoon from advisor....unable to book visit, requested to do checks which advised I had done and wasn't provided with phone so unable to see if phone line working properly. So after day 3 still no wiser when will be sorted.
Even though told advisors I am working from home and am a frontline worker (social services) there is still no urgency. Absolutely atrocious.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bradford Plusnet  
Very unreliable and misleading. I was made to believe that they would have an engineer come over. After the long wait I called them to get updates (23 minutes on hold) and was told that they forgot to register the visit and I’ll have to wait again for them to confirm. Disappointed!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Morden Plusnet  
No one answers the phones and support requests. My service was supposed to start 10 days ago and no one has contacted me with any information about it.

Terrible company. Their customer support is so bad they actually make Virgin Media look good by comparison.

Avoid!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Fleet Plusnet  
Where do I start.Constant problems for over a year. Said I owed them money,Put it in the hands of a debt collection agency, turns out they owe it to me ! During that time i was widowed. All extra stress. NOSTARS.
Devon Plusnet  
Worst provider ever... couldn't provide service to my new address, so told to cancel it then insisted I should pay the cancellation fee (despite being no fault of my own). Rang up and couldn't get through, eventually when I did they told me they would sort it and I wont have to pay anything, failed to record this on their system and proceeded to send me a debt letter for £30, 6 months down the line. Poor service and even worse phoneline representatives who obviously say one thing and do another... AVOID!!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
north east Plusnet  
Unfortunately can not recommend Plusnet. Very unreliable poor broadband. Far below the promised speed of internet. Even though I had fibre. It’s not as cheap as advertised and better price and quality fully available nowadays from other providers. And most disappointingly customer service - not great. Not supporting , not prompt and not pleasant
London Plusnet  
I can't give review of speed or reliability as it's been nearly 3 weeks and the service has not started yet. For reasons of Covid19 you can't speak to anybody on the phone or live chat.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Southend On Sea Plusnet  
Paid upfront on 3rd July 2020 and informed that an Engineer would visit the property on 27th July, so had a day off work. Guess what NOBODY turned up, no communication to let me know what was happening. Ever tried to speak to theses people -no chatline available (unless you want to buy a product) and the helpline - oh dear over 1 hr waiting and then no joy so gave up. Hopeless beyond, stay away from this company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Market Drayton Plusnet  
Attempted to switch to plusnet because my dumb a** wasn’t smart enough to read any reviews beforehand and I just went with the cheapest one on Martin Lewis’ website. MISTAKE.

Plusnet adverts started popping up on my Facebook due to the cookies, and let me tell you something... the problems I had are EXTREMELY CONSISTENT With the comments other people were leaving on these adverts.

1) the switch just doesn’t happen. They say it takes 2 weeks but let me tell you what happens after 2 weeks: nothing. No communication and no switch and no router. (An overwhelming number of customers reported the same thing although some had received a router that wouldn’t work yet).

2) calling the customer services about the inevitable problem you’ll have will take OVER AN HOUR... and that’s it you ring at a quiet time. No joke. It took me 63 minutes and that was mid morning. There’s also no other way to contact them about issues.

I understand that Facebook comments to adverts are going to be negative... but if you don’t think it’s strange that they all say the same 2 problems then you’re just looking for an excuse to ignore the issues you’ll have by switching.

I think the ‘speed’ and ‘reliability’ stars are referring to the internet provided but since it doesn’t really exist for anyone wishing to switch right now I figured it didn’t make much sense to score it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Cheshire Plusnet  
UNBELIEVABLY BAD !!! No customer support - impossible to get through by phone, but no other support available. Ordered new broadband with them on 9/7 and still waiting for it on 27/7. Engineer came last Thursday but couldn't find the doorbell and gave up !!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Plusnet  
Just been introduced to Plusnet and told they were very good . So I signed up for m
Home fibre broadband , call package and mobile phone .
The mobile phone sim NEVER arrived even after a chase up call and a promise of delivery in up to 3 days . Today 24/7/20 my phone service went live at 5.45 am and a text message to say it had , I got a friend to come round after work approx 3.45pm to plug in the router and set up the Wi-fi for my phone and tv . After plugging in the router and powering it up , no broadband connection , so reading through all the trouble shooting guides and still no good . So had to call up Plus net . On the phone for 1HOUR AND 3 Minutes waiting to talk to the tech department , while waiting the router started working . So I then hung up . I read all the bad reviews and thought they couldn’t be correct . BELIEVE ME THEY ARE . DONT GET MIXED UP WITH THIS COMPANY , YOU WILL REGREAT IT UNTILL THE END OF YOUR CONTRACT , They need lots more people in there call centres workin , they blamecovid for this ,BUT THEY ARE A TELECOMS COMPANY AND THEY HAVE THERE STAFF WORKING FROM HOME , BUT STILL CANT PROVIDE ANYTHING APPROACHING CUSTOMER SERVICE
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
Essex Plusnet  
had plusnet 2 year contract broadband was slow upgrade to the best speed they had for 6 months no better engineer came out was informed fastest i could get was 21mb i was paying for 76mb only got 1 month back of the 6 months extra payment i moved to virgin when my contract was up and they had the cheek to chase for £9 i apparently owed awful company stay clear
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
WIRRAL Plusnet  
Took out broadband fiber, home phone (unlimited calls) & mobile with plusnet, waited weeks to be connected, even though told it would be 10 days, then had huge bill for going over home phone call allowance even though paid for unlimited calls, took months to sort out, passed from pillar to post after waiting 40 - 60 minutes to get through each time and frequently got cut off. ended contract and was told early termination fee would be waived as I was treated so poorly this was confirmed by email the out of the blue 4 months later had a letter saying debt for termination fee had been passed to debt collectors with 25% added on (the very first I had heard about it) rang plusnet to explain, and they agreed to withdraw from debt agency. I have never EVER dealt with such an incompetent company. my advice is to AVOID AT ALL COSTS, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Bridgend, South Wales Plusnet  
Very stressful,
I would never recommend plus net to everyone
Bad service
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Newcastle upon Tyne Plusnet  
Bad service, don’t follow tv adds,
I’ve had engineers over 3 times and can’t fix the speed. And anytime the engineer turn up there is a £65 charge
I’m so sick of the service that don’t work and I can’t even opt out till August 2021 that’s what the customer service told me.
I would never recommend plusnet to anyone.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Plusnet  
I've been with Plusnet for 2 weeks, moving from TalkTalk was a huge mistake. The Plusnet service is horrendous, constant buffering and very slow wifi speeds, they've told me that they don't guarantee the wifi speed so I'm now stuck with unusable wifi. The tech department keep fobbing me off, I'm stuck with them for 2 years, this is a nightmare as I need wifi for my work.
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
cumbria Plusnet  
Awful. Poor speed reported. Open Reach visited and did a few things. Now getting somewhere around 35mbps. Guarantee is 49!! Tried calling support, told lines busy call tomorrow. Tried online chat, not working. Finally after couple of days got through by phone. Asked to take socket apart and remove filter. When I explained Open Reach had visited and there was no point they explained I had to agree to a £65 charge. I said I would if the engineer explained what was wrong. Apart from poor speed line drops regularly. I am only 100 m from Fibre station. Don't believe the TV ad.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Over Wallop Plusnet  
Worst company ever to exist. Been with them for years contract ran our 3 years ago only to be told I cant cancel because I was in a rolling contract and they wanted another months payment. Plus net is a joke. Hold on a minute if I paid up front then why should I have to give you another months payment when im out of contract you have already charged me for this at the start of the contract. NEVER EVER GO WITH THIS COMPANY. They are just a complete joke they should be ashamed we do you proud yeah maybe it should be WE ARE PROUD TO ROB YOU.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
newcastle upon tyne Plusnet  
Since lockdown connection has deteriorated dramatically. Network is unreliable and have to reboot several times in a day to connect. Have been in touch with support who tested connection and assured it was fast. I am working from home for NHS and finding it Very frustrating. Second attempt to contact support to resolve and nobody has been in touch
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Edinburgh Plusnet  
The big problem with Plusnet is that they are so difficult to contact. They couldn't be more awkward if they tried.

We have had a fault on the phone line occurring for the second tome in two weeks. They expect you to telephone them; How when the phone isn't working!! I got onto the chat line where they just couldn't care less. They said they couldn't do anything, which means they weren't going to try. They said I had to ring. I managed to get a mobile to call but their call centre is hopeless on a mobile. Pressing the button as instructed just cut me off and I tried several times. I had asked the chat line for an email address of the Complaints Manager but was told that you have to write in. For a company selling modern technology, including email, it is ridiculous to hide behind the postal service. I want action now not the week after next.
I'll just be glad when the contract is finished then goodbye and Plusnet.
How can their customer service be “award winning”?
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Wakefield Plusnet  
I had an issue with my broadband cutting it. It took 3 calls to get it sorted. The agents I spoke to were all nice and provided good customer care. Fixing the problem was frustrating but we got there in the end. Overall not perfect but to be honest it was a million times better than Vodafone!
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Brighton Plusnet  
absolutely shocking. Trying to find out when my contract is up to cancel this pile of trash Internet - can't get any further than logging in, website just crashes.
Do yourself a favour and use a different provider
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Southampton Plusnet  
Always look at recent reviews. Date of review 19/07/20.

I was with plusnet for a couple of years about 5 years ago. They were up to their usual tricks of purposely overcharging on their bills. But I could get through to customer services and every time they did issue a refund (3 times in 2 years). This was pretty poor but at least the broadband worked and the customer service was acceptable.

Tried to switch to them last week and my goodness are they in a pickle right now (possibly due to covid?). Attempted to switch online. 2 weeks later when the switch was due we had not been sent the router, had not had any communication at all and the switch did not take place. Called up and I was on hold for over an hour (genuinely!), and was given some bs about how openreach had messed up and that it would need to start the process again. Well I wasn’t silly enough to stick around with this fiasco, so I told them no thanks and to cancel the switch. And what was particularly strange was that the man on the phone seemed pleased for me to say I was off. Like as if the management has been so bad and the poor man felt guilty about how badly the customers were being treated so he more than happy to process my refund straight away. His tone of voice changed as if some joy came to his life from it!

Anyone reading close to the date now: management are in a right mess. Staff and customers are being treated extremely poorly. Stay away from at all costs. If you are currently with plusnet please be nice to the staff as they are probably victimised as much as you. God bless.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Northwich Plusnet  
Plusnet give a good service for a reasonable price. If you don't need very fast broadband, you'll get a good deal at Plusnet
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Angus, Scotland Plusnet  
I gave Plusnet 1 star for all but I don't think they are even worth that! Absolutely disgusting service all round. Everyday constantly the internet drops out,fibre is no faster than normal, customer service is terrible and that's when you can eventually get through to them! Paying for a service they are not providing what so ever. We will be leaving you Plusnet, no return!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dartford Plusnet  
I understand that we can't get state of the art Broadband in our area but the speeds we have been getting since switching to Plusnet have been awful, always under 1 mbps, as low as 70kbps making working from home almost impossible. We get next to no communication back from then despite 2 phone calls which I was on hold for around an hour, and I have to log reports on their terrible web interface. I made a complaint again on Monday after we had constant dropouts and unusable internet on Sunday and Monday morning but have not heard back since, although the connection has improved over the last day. I would like some kind of money back due to our poor service over the past month but hear nothing back and I expect we will go back to having dropouts in a week or so as they clearly haven't fixed the fault yet, poor customer service, poor connection, avoid!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bristol Plusnet  
Plusnet also provides our landline has excellent customer service. The speed varies from good to very good and the router has a reasonable range and is straightforward to use. I am not thinking of switching anytime soon.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames Plusnet  
I've chosen Plusnet for a second time as I had no problems with them last time. I've always found the connection date accurate and have never had problems with speed or connection. I have given customer service a 3, as I've never needed to contact them {must be a good thing}. Very reasonable price and good service - router delivered well in advance, and notification when service is ready. I plugged in and in 5 minutes was ready to go. No problems connecting PC, phones etc.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
WOODBRIDGE Plusnet  
Was told we'd be online in 10 days, 16 days later had to ask what was happening, was told it would be another 3 weeks. Complained about this, said they would look to fast track it, but then didn't respond back about this. Asked again and nothing was actually done. Was given a new date which was in 2 days time. Nothing happened so called again and our date was moved back to 3 weeks time again! Asked to cancel and they did this. Might have stayed if they offered to give our first month free as we never got to use it! But canceled with no questions. Very unhappy as we trusted them to get us online within 10 days, right now our broadband is vital as my wife and I are both healthcare key workers having video appointments daily. We've had to spend a fortune on mobile data to compensate for their error
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Swadlincote Plusnet  
Appalling company in every respect.I have a guaranteed minimum speed of 2-5 and most of the time they cant even provide that. Customer complaints is a farce, full of broken promises. Avoid at all costs. My previous provider gave me no problems so the fault is entirely Plusnets. Avoid at all costs.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Surrey Plusnet  
I've been with Plusnet since 2013 and was happy throughtout that time but the last 6 months has been utterly shambolic. Incorrect billing, constantly declining broadband speeds (I'm on a guaranteed 27MBPS service and freqeuently see it as low as 3-MBPS) causing connection losses or frozen streaming. Now having severe problems with the phone service too, which is impacting us both personally and professionally. Customer Service Online chat is suspended and I'm sat here for the 3rd time today trying to get through on the call centre number without any luck (Been waiting 20mins). Abysmal.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
High Wycombe Plusnet  
I joined plusnet becasue of their customer service. I have found this to be adequate if not brilliant until now. An increasingly abysmal Email service gave need for me to call them. My first call was cut off, and they didnt bother calling back, and now there is no online or phone support available. My Email isnt working and therefore I have no effective service. Pandemic or not this is not acceptable
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Brampton Plusnet  
Place my order, no updates whatsoever, called them the day before installation, my router had not been sent out and the operator thought I'd be fine with him just sending it out then, no if you can't send a router in 2 weeks when you're trying to get me into your service there's no way I will trust you further.

I cancelled my order and now I've received a bag for my old router that never turned up and a letter welcoming me on my sign up, I'm still waiting on my refund. This company is a shambles, I cannot comment on the service since they can't even process an order, avoid them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Rotherham Plusnet  

Loading...

  • 3096 reviews, showing page 1 of 78, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk