Post Office Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Post Office.

Recent Customer Ratings for Post Office

  • Satisfaction
    2.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.5 stars
  • Speed
    2.1 stars
  • Reliability
    2.2 stars

Based on 1056 customer ratings since 2019-07-10 (Show all time ratings)

Find alternatives to Post Office   Compare broadband in your area

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

1163 Customer Reviews for Post Office

  • Showing page 4 of 30, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
The first time I have ever experienced difficulties in my attempts to start a new contact with a provider difficulties from day one the they failed to take over broadband from previous provider only phone which left me paying 2 providers for the same service and refused to acknowledge it was there error
Leaving me to deal with previous provider and cancel
Subsequent there router wasn’t working and they denied it was possible for there service to come through another router
Call on my answer machine request me to ring them I have honestly never been spoken to by a call advisor in such a disgraceful was all but called me a lier had to get my son to verify the facts
I asked if the call was costing me and was told no I have now been charged £8 to call them at there request to sort out there errors which are still ongoing and be spoken to like an idiot with all the wrong information given and actually paid them to do this !!!!
I only found this out by having to trace back the call history as they don’t recognise it as there one company and now I am expected to take a day off so they can send someone to verify equipment isn’t working and my old router is and apparently can as once again all wrong information given no apologies nothing is there fault
Why can’t I just receive clear accurate information and have what I am paying for delivered in the way the post office offered??
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Northumberland Post Office  
Appalling customer service - Avoid.

We changed to Post Office broadband as their deal was competitive. The change over from our last supplier was trouble free. Once set up we had to buy a booster to get a signal in all parts of the house. This is something we've never had to do before but wasn't a major issue.

Tbe problem is when it goes wrong......

We have been without internet for 4 weeks. We reported the fault on a Saturday and were advised that an engineer would come out and that they would contact us the following week with an appointment time.

They did not contact us so we had to ring them back. We were then told the problem was an underground cable and that it would be repaired by the end of the week. This date came and went and the fault was not repaired.

There were no updates from their Customer Services so we phoned them again. We were then told the problem was a local network fault and that it would be repaired in 3 working days.

This date came and went with no updates so we phoned back again. We were again told they would report the fault and that it would be repaired with 3 working days.

Again it was not repaired, another call was made and we were told an engineer had been assigned and it would be repaired by the end of the day.....I think you know where this is going......

An email was sent registering a complaint to which they say they will respond in 5 working days, they haven't!

A further phone call to be advised that an engineer has been assigned for this Friday when the fault will be repaired. I have no confidence that this will happen.

I have now spoken to Ofcom and taken advice on leaving the contract early without incurring a penalty.

My advice is pay around the Post Office.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
West Yorkshire Post Office  
So far waited for over a month to get fibre connected. Three engineers have so far failed to work out how to connect my house. Just got another appointment for over a week away bearing in mind how long we've already been waiting and they have the cheek to still charge the full £30 installation fee.

Useless.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh Post Office  
lost connection a dozen times I will say it is a Rubbish do not buy it otherwise you will do your life s biggest mistake.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
glasgow Post Office  
Honestly the worst broadband I have ever experienced. The broadband is constantly dropping out, the router keeps loosing the DSL connection so service is really patchy.

We keep getting told we are getting 13mb/s on our line but are seeing nothing like this on our devices, devices measure less than 2mb/s download a lot of the time.

Online gaming is generally not possible, internet TV is patchy with buffering needed. Horrible experience.

Have contacted post office to sort, BT engineer been round to check the line and it's all fine. Speak to post office about this and they are adamant there is no problem and refused to replace the router.

Previously with Vodafone and didn't have any problems whatsoever, could use multiple devices over wi-fi at same time. Now with post office and it's terrible, especially using WiFi for work.

We are currently trying to leave as we are citing they aren't fulfilling their contract but the want to charge us the remaining 9months of our contract to leave them.

We have now taken issue to the ombudsman.

Avoid at all costs and go with someone reliable even if they are a few quid dearer.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester Post Office  
Had a problem with my broadband for some months the only answer was to sell me fibre. I manage to get it sorted in the end When an engineer came out.
After making a complaint of how long it took to deal with the problem I ended up having an abusive phone call of the complaints team.
Never experienced this kind of customer service before very poor bordering on bullying behaviour.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Llandudno Post Office  
Stay away from it, I lose connection at least a dozen times a day, you contact them and you just get a load of flannel, it’s the worst broadband I’ve ever had and I will be leaving the first chance I get, it total absolute RUBBISH
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Staffordshire Post Office  
When it does work it doesn't work for long. My devices barely pick up the weak signal and the service is very poor. The cheapest broadband going, but I'm not even getting a minimum service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Leeds Post Office  
Post office broadband.. I wouldn’t call it that it’s worse that dial up! Painfully slow! You pay for minimum 8 and get 2 to 6 at best! Absolute joke! And you can’t cancel after it goes live and you’re stuck paying for it for the whole contract! I can’t wait to leave! Netflix doesn’t work if I pick up my phone trying to install internet security on my pc with their speed? Forget it!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh Post Office  
This service is not even worth one star. They are a shambles with no customer service. I complained and received a letter because they have issues with their emails. I get around 5 mins a day connection and its as slow as dial up. Time they called it a day and shut up shop
Myhtolmroyd Post Office  
The absolute worst broadband I have ever had. Think my original dial up modem was quicker and more reliable. Took the hit on the cancellation fee and switched provider it was that bad. Avoid at all costs - the cheap monthly payment is not worth the misery!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Scotland Post Office  
I am with post office broadband for 18 months. My contract runs out in March. I have signed up to stay with them. I have never had any problems.
You cant go wrong. Great price. Suits me as it's no frills broadband.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Spalding Post Office  
If I could give 0 stars I would, absolutely horrific. Get told an engineer is coming to fix broadband and phone, nobody shows up. Get told the next day but only get a phone call and internet still not working. Replaced router 3 times. Absolutely terrible would not recommend
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Barrow Post Office  
When I read the bad reviews, I thought there is no way a broadband provider using BT's network could be so much worse than all the others. I was wrong.

Their service is plagued by network drop-outs and down-time lasting a few minutes each time, but very frequent (even when using a wired connection instead of wi-fi). I have had broadband since 2002 using many different providers, and have never experienced anything even close to this level of unreliability.

Speed is the worst I have experienced since 2003: <2 Mbps down, and a truly glacial ~0.2 Mbps up! Customer services tell me there is no way for customers to find out out about scheduled downtime, or to check the service status in their area. Even after jumping through the ludicrous checklist that tech support require to rule out a fault inside the home, they did nothing to resolve the issues.

The small print on their website claims they do not use any traffic management, and yet the connection mysteriously drops whenever a P2P network is used for more than an hour.

I coughed up the early cancellation fees just to escape the torture of this service. Heed this warning: spend a couple of pounds extra an go elsewhere!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Post Office  
No stars because not worth them.
Looking at other feedback, this outfit is providing such slow download speeds (0.0 mbs to 2.0 mbs) that is is not fit for purpose, nor is it the product they contracted to provide. If they refuse to release customers from their contracts (and I haven't yet requested this) they would, in my view, be defrauding them.
I note that many of the very few people leaving positive feedback are very new customers. I would be interested to see what they think in six months time.
London Post Office  
I'm writing this email on my phone using my mobile data, whilst on hold for technical support for the last half an hour as I don't have Internet. Don't use them. I have had dropped connection and insufficient bandwidth for the whole of the eight months I have been with them. Don't do it! Go to anybody else.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Post Office  
Well what can I say! The Post Office probably is the worst company that you are going to deal with. No phone for three weeks then no caller display. Internet is the slowest I have come across. The caller display issue is such a small issue that should have been sorted within a couple of days. But no three weeks later still no caller display. The customer service is non existent. Literally. I was told there is no customer service department!! Good luck if you choose the Post Office, you’re going to need it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Post Office  
What a load off rubbish not worth getting if you value you time spending 20 mins to load a video, was told by a member off there team when we rang to complain they said “there was no point having WiFi if it’s that slow your on about 2mbs which is useless” so please tell me what we’re paying for.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bedford Post Office  
I decided to leave a review as it appears only dissatisfied customers are leaving them.
I changed 3 weeks ago from Plusnet to Post Office saving £15.00 a month. The changeover went smooth as silk and I am getting consistently over 35Mb/sec connection speeds with very very few disconnections. Overall a very positive experience.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Sherborne Post Office  
AVOID unless you have carrier pigeons as a back up.

I took their broadband offer of £15.90 a month 10 months ago and I can’t wait until I can bin it and go somewhere else, ANYWHERE else.
I moved to this “service” on the basis of cost because Sky who provided us with a brilliant service were going to bill me £29 a month which I thought was expensive.
SO …… where do I start? With Sky we were getting a consistent 8mb, with Post office, 4mb if we’re lucky and frequently not much quicker than ISDN.
When I queried this with their laughable “tech support”, I had some Dixon’s reject telling me that it was all down to “wireless interference” from outside of our property, i.e. a neighbor was causing the mayhem. Yes, really.
SO, for four consecutive nights I hauled myself out of bed at 4.am when all of my neighbours were fast asleep and guess what? No change at all.
THEN there are the multiple daily breaks in service and I do mean daily….and I do mean multiple.
In fact it broke for 10 minutes while I was trying to submit this review.
Anyway, we have two more months of the contract to run and if they paid ME to continue with it I wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot barge pole.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
South Wales Post Office  
I read the reviews and thought surely they can't be that bad ?
Oh dear. I was put on the wrong contract at the wrong price. Twenty minutes wait on the phone for a customer service person who then told me it wasn't his fault or the Post Offices, it was Fujitsu, who he said oversees things. Eventually he told me that for 10 days although someone had instantly saw they'd filled out the boxes incorrectly, their method for telling others had not been seen or actioned. He then said he couldn't do anything until I went ' Live '. I asked what do I get for the time wasted and the mess about. £ 5. Wow ! This is all before I'm supposed to be connected next week.
Leave them ? Maybe I should but it's just a pain to switch again. Maybe they should just be able to do their job ?
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Penrith Post Office  
I have just spent the worst 3 weeks as a Post Office Telecoms customer, we had our switch on the 21st January 2020 and then spent 3 weeks with no Internet. I called 8 times and was told on 4 occasions that an engineer was coming out. I finally cancelled my contract after 3 weeks, They very nicely told me they would not charge me a cancellation fee, which considering they broke the contact on there end was a joke. An engineer finally showed up on 11th February and had the issue fixed with 1 hour, the exchange in town had no Internet connection as it had been unplugged. This could have been fixed at day 1 if they had send engineers out right away. No Compensation was offered and when I asked I was told it is not possible.

Never choose Post Office Telecoms
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Canterbury Post Office  
Absolutely rubbish wasn’t happy with the service what so ever internet was always down most of the time couldn’t connect. When phoned to say it isn’t working Kenya saying need a new connector from phone lone to modern which I had to pay for and still had same issues. Eventually decided to go with a different company and post office made me pay exit fee of over £80 even though it wasn’t my fault it didn’t work and didn’t give me the chance to dispute it really wouldn’t recommend anyone using them
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Walsall Post Office  
Awfully slow, worst ever. Do no use! In addition, customer service impossible to reach. Avoid at all costs
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wales Post Office  
Really terrible service and customer service was very poor.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Glasgow Post Office  
Would also give NO stars is possible. Please steer far and wide from this disaster of a broadband company. I placed an order with them on 1/11/19 with a go live by date of 18/11/19. After the WORST experience of my life since being a home owner (25 years) I eventually got broadband on 03/01/20. After going back to my old provider Plusnet. I switched due to cost and a better deal but how this has taught me a lesson.
I am self employed and do rely on some broadband service, although it’s not the end of my business if I don’t have any, it did cause me soooo many headaches issues due to the run up of Christmas and a big work event I had for three weeks from the 05/01/20.

This company should be shut down, never seen such poor customer service and lies after lies, passing the book etc.

I was on the verge of being ill with the stress this caused me not to mention the hours and hours wasted on the phone, writing emails, on hold etc.

AVOID AVOID AVOID.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Chorley Post Office  
I'm very happy with the service and customer care team support. A couple days passed since the activation date of my broadband and it works fine.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Manchester Post Office  
I was promised upto 9Mb speeds when I took out the contract (my previous supplier I was getting around 8Mb), although I am less than 2Km from the exchange and should achieve 12~15Mb the line is of very poor quality. The Post office broadband service as advertised assumes an ADSL2 or ADSL2+ service but in reality it is a very old G.DMT (1st gen ADSL) service not capable of more than 8Mb. I was misled into believing I would be getting a similar speed to my previous supplier but I now suffer lots of drop outs and speeds of less than 5Mb at times and never over6 (it was worse on the router they supplied). The post office are misleading customer by promising speeds that they know are impossible to achieve. Avoid this service if you view on demand TV. My set top box crashes when the Broadband is lost and rarely can I view a full program without a 5 minute interruption! The PO just tell me there are no faults on the line and completely disregard my complaint.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Upminster Post Office  
Do not touch with a barge pole- The customer service of this company is terrible (I only gave 1 star as there is no option to give none).

After being without internet for 24 days (at a personal loss of £500- I work from home) I was offered £1 a day in compensation. I turned this down only to be contacted 4 days later by a woman who clearly has not customer service experience, as she talked AT me and wasn't keen on considering the frustrated customer on the end of the phone. She told me that the Post Office didn't consider me viable for compensation...which, given I have been a customer for 15 months already, is lovely!
PO is not signed up to the OFCOM compensation scheme as they do not think “it is viable”, but they are perfectly happy to take your money whilst NOT providing a service they are contracted to do.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wiltshire Post Office  
Terrible internet provider - I do not rate them AT all. Customer service is appalling; lack of communication, incompetency and some of their staff really help to make you feel stupid. The internet drops out quite constantly and is slow. If you don’t plan to stream or use your internet for anything other than a quick Google once in a while, then it’ll be fine. Else you’ll end up trying to cancel, being told that’s all fine and still being charged £30 for the privilege of having Internet you don’t want. Really disappointed service and will wholeheartedly avoid in the future. I suggest you all do too.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Exeter Post Office  
my post office broadband internet is going down all the time my post office Fibre Broadband not been put on yet i am sick of it you call me tell me its not on yet and your work is very bad i am very sine of it meant to be on by the 28th of last month and is still not on fix it or i will be looking for some where else
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
todmorden Post Office  
If I could give 0 stars I would. Left my provider 1 month early and incured a charge. Signed up through topcashback online for broadband due to start 31.1.20. On 31st No internet no router received? Contacted them told me I only signed up for phone? I have evidence to the contrary
I was told to call back on the 1st feb as they where unable to put it through. I called back and told someone would call me back? No call back. Again 4th Feb promised a call back from complaints team? No call back. I cancelled before it started and went with another provider.post office is a Very unprofessional company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Beveridge Post Office  
MOVING THE ACCOUNT BETWEEN ADDRESSES

* 12hrs and rising over 10+ calls trying to sort issues out
* 2 callbacks promised and not made
* 7 dates given for go live - all missed
* Order is now 6 weeks late and not fulfilled
* 6 weeks without service and they wont offer any compensation for loss of service and earnings

Post office have provided hands down the worst customer service experience I have ever witnessed. They have missed callbacks, missed service delivery dates, always say the matter will be updated tomorrow (literally every time we call) and continually blamed the matter on BT Open Reach (I am an IT Engineer and sat with the engineer who talked me through & verified everything). Wont let me cancel as the order is still in process but cant give a time for delivery (and will be forver at this rate).

Avoid like the plague.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Essex Post Office  
The worst ever broadband provider I have ever been with , customer service cant even understand them broadband speed worse than the old dial up connection , Cant wait till my year is up January next year , will never use them ever again slow braodband very VERY slow and none existent customer service
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
bolton Post Office  
Useless customer service at first. Instead of consultation 3 month ago they connected me to their speedless network(7mb/s)!!! And now posted me the 150pounds bill
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sheffield Post Office  
Safeguard is blocking everything, even though it's turned off. Customer service is useless and won't reply to emails. Broadband speed is poor similar to talktalk.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Great Dunmow Post Office  
It's early days but the initial signs are not good - the broadband connection is the worst I've ever had - like stepping back years - streaming a show is pointless due to the continual buffering. Yes it's the cheapest deal on the market, but my advice would be avoid - particularly if you need broadband for your work - it's painfully bad at times...
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cardiff Post Office  
Terrible unreliable broadband, and the customer service is worse. Tried to cancel an hour after going live but the 14 day cooling off period begins from when you sign up so they wanted me pay the full amount of my contract. Had it a week now and it’s gone off twice. Phoned customer service, it’s 50/50 wether they talk to you or cut you off once you have got through.Sat in last week waiting for engineer who never came, apparently that is fine, he may not need to come to the house and they don’t tell you your ok to go out. I could go on but you get the idea.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Oldham Post Office  
Very poor and unstable internet connection. I urge anyone thinking about joining Post Office Broadband to seriously reconsider your choice.

Internet connection: Unreliable and very slow. Sometimes the download & upload speeds will almost get to zero, at which point the internet connection will crash and reboot. This takes around 1-2 minutes and you can expect multiple such events daily. Post Office Broadband even has a name for this event in their FAQs called "re-synching", but with bogus technical explanations.

Router: Cheap, old and very limited. Slow and dated interface with non-existent firmware/security upgrades. If gaming online, you can expect connection issues with other players.

Broadband Online Account: Very poor and dated interface - looks like a webpage from the 90s. Cannot pay online using bank cards! Card payments accepted only via the phone or you can pay by bank transfer. Its like a guy working part-time set up the whole thing. Totally insane.

Customer Service: Slow reply, closed/cancelled support tickets and severe lack of technical knowledge. Connection issues blamed on bogus reasons such as electrical interference, phone sockets and other things.

Moving house? Awesome! You can't take your contract to your new address like all other companies. Instead, they will let you cancel the current contract with no termination fees and make you sign a new contract at your new address. Man oh man!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Plymouth Post Office  
We are a 2 person household and internet usage doesn’t extend beyond streaming tv onto the iPad (hardly ever with more than 1 iPad in use at same time). So we have been fine with the ‘standard broadband’ packages offered by BT, Sky and most recently Plusnet. When that contract ran out in the summer I went with the cheapest option available (which I have always done in the past without any problems) and went with The Post Office. My expected speed was given as 13-17Mb but in reality it is rarely above 1Mb. Streaming is unreliable at best. The desktop computer basically doesn’t think it’s even connected to the internet! I’m seriously considering breaking my contract for the first time as previous reviews have stressed The Post Office is useless at addressing issues... I would avoid in future and maybe the ‘cheapest’ in this arena isn’t a wise option.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dorset Post Office  

Loading...

  • 1163 reviews, showing page 4 of 30, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Post Office are not affiliated with Broadband.co.uk. This page does not constitute any affiliation between Broadband.co.uk and Post Office.

Broadband.co.uk