Origin Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Origin.

Recent Customer Ratings for Origin

  • Satisfaction
    2.6 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.7 stars
  • Speed
    2.5 stars
  • Reliability
    2.5 stars

Based on 216 customer ratings since 2019-06-01 (Show all time ratings)

Find alternatives to Origin   Compare broadband in your area

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

757 Customer Reviews for Origin

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
I was with Sky Broadband for several years but became fed up with them offering better deals to new customers than, loyal customers so chose to move supplier. Origin great pricing and £35 cashback offer through Quidco attracted me to sign up, the sign up process was very straightforward but that’s where the good stuff ends.

I’ve detailed below a summary of the problems, and hassle which I have had to deal with whilst being a customer of Origin Broadband for just over 2 months! My service still hasn’t been resolved, I am now without broadband as I am using a personal hotspot through my iPhone!

Switching line to Origin Broadband;
a. I received an e-mail on the day of connection (29th November 2017) advising of a delay in getting connected.
b. I was told to expect regular updates
c. I sent an e-mail to Origin on 30th November 2017 requesting an update.
d. On 4th December 2017 I used Twitter to request a response to my previous e-mail!
e. I received a response advising my broadband was connected on 29th November!? I was away from home so I couldn’t check.

2. No internet connection
a. 5.12.2017: I returned home, I was unable to connect to the internet via WiFi or wired connection.
b. 5.12.2017: I replied to the previous twitter message to advise the broadband wasn’t working
c. 5.12.2017: I reconfigured my router following instructions I received via DM on Twitter, broadband still not working!
d. 5.12.2017: I was asked to call the tech team on 03300 24 1777
e. 5.12.2017: I spoke with tech support who were unable to resolve.
f. 8.12.2017: Received an e-mail advising the fault is still being investigated.
g. 9.12.2017: I received an e-mail asking me to plug in a landline handset and dial 17070 and check if the landline is crossed. They provided on instructions on how to identify this.
h. 9.12.2017: I purchased a landline phone and dialled 17070, No faults were found. I replied to the previous e-mail to advise.
i. 11.12.2017: E-mail sent chasing response to my previous e-mail.
j. 11.12.2017: I called chasing a response to my previous e-mail, after a long phone call I was finally able to access the internet.

3. Slow connection
a. 11.12.2017: I e-mailed Origin at 23:06 advising my broadband connection was extremely slow: 5.70mbps download / 0.68mbps upload.
b. 11.12.2017: I messaged Origins social media team on twitter advising of the slow speeds at 23:30
c. 12.12.2017: speed improved during the day, connection became extremely slow again in the evening.
d. 13.12.2017: Received an e-mail from Laura Paterson advising she’d try to call me.
e. 13.12.2017: Returned Laura’s call, was passed to her colleague as her computer wasn’t working. Her colleague apologised for the poor service, I vented my frustration and advised the service is causing me a lot of difficulty. Laura’s colleague (didn’t get her name) said she’d call back in 7 days to check how things are.
f. 13.12.2017: I was asked to run a speed test by connecting the router through the open reach test port.
g. 13.12.2017: Issue was escalated to customer relations team

4. Connection dropping intermittently
a. My internet connection regularly drops but often reconnects itself or, will reinstate after the router has been rebooted, apart from the following occasions where I required assistance (these are the only occasions which I have a record of, there is more!);
i. 19/12/2017, 20/12/2017, 21/12/2017, 22/12/2017 (on two occasions), 25/12/2017, 26/12/2017, 28/12/2017, 29/12/2017
b. 20.12.2017: I received a telephone call from complaints team asking how things are, they noticed my connection improved yesterday. I confirmed my connection has been ok for around 24 hours. The caller suggested calling me again in a week, due to the festive period I advised I wouldn’t be spending a lot of time at home so suggested calling in a fortnight (still waiting on the call).
c. 26.12.2017: I received an e-mail advising an engineer is required to resolve the fault, I replied with my preferred day / time.
d. 29.12.2017: I called to reinstate my connection as it dropped again, during the call I was advised an engineer will not be required. The advisor suspected my router might be faulty, a new router has been ordered.
e. 02.01.2018: I noticed the confirmation e-mail advising my new router had been dispatched did not have my flat number on it!
f. 03.01.2018: Luckily the post man recognised my name and delivered the router to my door.
g. 03.01.2018: New router is not working
h. 03.01.2018: Called tech support who reconfigured router settings.
i. 07.01.2018: Lost internet connection, called tech support; connection reinstated
j. 07.01.2018: Lost internet connection again
k. 09.01.2018: Lost internet connection, waited over an hour for someone to answer the phone, I gave up.
l. 09.01.2018: I messaged Origins social media and complaints team, no reply received but connection was reinstated in the morning.
m. 10.01.2018: Social media team advised previous night’s outage was due to maintenance.
My connection is still intermittent and it appears nobody is making any attempt to provide me with a satisfactory service. I have spent approximately 6 hours on the phone to Origin trying to resolve connection issues, not all of the calls are detailed above.

I detailed all of the above in a letter to Origin providing them with my 14 days notice to cancel my contract as they have breached their obligations. I received a letter from Leanne Whittington offering to have their tech support team to resolve within 14 days before allowing me to end my contract without charge, this is unacceptable as Origin have knowingly allowed me to receive a terrible service for over 2 months! I emailed the managing director, Oliver Bryssau directly and still await a response.

This is the worst company I have ever dealt with, initially I thought I must be unlucky but appears from other reviews here, Yell, Google, ISP review sites, and social media suggest this is their standard level of service.

I now want to shout with my highest voice at how terrible this company is!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh Origin  
Have been with Origin for a couple of years on broadband and am very happy with them. The best price for broadband and line rental, and customer service has always been excellent. Broadband not the fastest but this is because of distance from exchange. BT have finally upgraded the line to fibre, so am transferring to fibre but staying with Origin.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Sheffield Origin  
dial up is probably a better option. had nothing but connection issues the year i was with them and had to call several times. spent more time without internet that with and they also avoid any attempt to cancel regardless of if you're in you're rights to or not. mum also went with them, had no response after the initial sign up,no internet provided and months later they started charging her.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
doncaster Origin  
absolutely useless. Broadband keeps dropping out. The speed varies from 3.2mbps to 20mbps at any time of the day. this is for fast fibre broadband.Tech help is not much better. Customer service when you can get them is next to rubbish. I have suffered them for 8 months continually having to ring them and waiting in a queue for an hour with the same three songs droning on and on all the time. Not a pleasant experience at all. Avoid like the plague.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Leicester Origin  
This is a terrible provider. Cheap but terrible. They have failed to inform my old provider that I have switched and I was getting billed. Due to their laziness, I Am getting billed from both providers. When I contacted Origin Broadband they told me that they have informed my previous provider that I was switching to them. My previous provider have done an investigation and said that they never received a leaving notification. This is not the first time Origin Broadband have lied to me. When they dispatched the wireless router they didn’t put my house number on the parcel. It was going to be returned to them and I managed to call the delivery man. When I called Origin Broadband and asked them why they did that, they denied it and said that there system shows that the correct address was sent. Stay away from this company, they are liars, lazy and you will 100% regret joining them. I would give overall staification ZERO
Coventry Origin  
First hurdle a 4 month delay because there was no fibre in the area "total crap" they kept hold of deposit and never advised there was a problem until i called them, my previous provider enjoyed over £200 extra cash as I was out of contract.
When service went live "months after agreed" it was slow, 1Mb speed download, 10Mb upload. Two agreed engineer visits and several hours call on the phone to there helpdesk, first engineer visit appointment never arrived, waste of time taking a day of work, second engineer visit confirmd the line had not been cleared proper from previous provider, Origin should have cleared the line first, another wasted day off work. All in all they said they would compensate a free month rental £25 "what a joke", 2 days off work, several hours on help desk lines and a 1Mb speed for 2months. Internet still has downtimes says authentication failed. Best of all they are starting the contract from the day service went live. Not when I made the agreement and paid deposit. Over 3 months gone past, still no compensated free month rental. Each month they say next month. Ram the refund and hopefully after talking with trading standard I can get out this contract and move to a reliable provider. My advice spend the extra couple£££££ on reliability. Rant over!
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
st andrews Origin  
Don't use this outfit should have gone on line 20/12/17 after horrendous time with there support teams still trying to get broadband 05/02/18 and guess whose fault it is mine and the are going to heavily charge me for this STAY CLEAR
Salford Origin  
Internet was terrible was only 0.9 speed and constant drop in connection but since the update on their router it's much better (still only 1.8 speed) and drop in connection has stopped still I only paid 154 pound for the year upfront guess you get what you pay for
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Pontypridd Origin  
There are bad providers but Origin Broadband is just new level Bad , if there is definition for Worst then Bad it would be under "Origin Broadband"
plus top of that they are thieves /they where adding to my bill 9.99 for something they offered for FREE 12mth but where taking money from bank through Direct Debit. Constant disconnections , upload sold 2mb Provided .6/.8 download 17mb provided 12mb ..... NEVER AGAIN !
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Origin  
Awful service, speeds are intermittent at the best of times. Oct/Nov i had 3 weeks of no service followed by a week or so of intermittent service, got a credit to the grand total of £5 and then all communication stopped when i questioned this. Never get through on the phone only via twitter chat, when i was told the lines were free i was still placed on hold until i said so in my twitter chat. Seeing the reviews and what they are doing to their staff makes me wish i had paid that bit more and gone elsewhere (although there are packages available cheaper now!). Currently complaining via the resolver website (surprise surprise no contact from them - 12 days until i can go to the ombudsman) shame you cant give 0 stars, please avoid!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Hertfordshire Origin  
Absolutely terrible! Forever being disconnected and spending hours trying to get through to their helpline. I was disconnected for 6 days once and they couldn't seem to understand why I would have a problem with that.Totally unfit for purpose. Now with Plusnet. What a joy! And cheaper
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lancashire Origin  
Rubbish. Keeps dropping out a number of times a day and often goes off needing an engineer a couple times a month. Also slow, can slow down to next to nothing. Customer service try their best and are always polite. If possible go for different company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
South Wales Origin  
Apart from interactions with a few brilliant technicians, my experience of Origin has been woeful. My main issue is the unacceptably long waits on hold- sometimes up to 2 hours. Slow response times to emails. It has taken 2 months to solve a line disconnection problem. I will not be using Origin again.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Bristol Origin  
God Awful.
The only thing worse than the reliability of the connection and the speed of the internet is the customer service.
Everybody expects companies like this to be a little terrible over the phone but ORIGIN take the wet.
They also TAKE money out of your account without authorisation or for no reason.
They also set up direct debits without authorisation.
The only positive is the funky pre-recorded phone voice and the hold music. Which is a good job because you will be hearing it a lot.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Scotland Origin  
Absolutely abismal service, since October have not had broadband. Spoke to customer service operative who told me there was a fault on the line, they would get an engineer out within 48 hours. Still not working rang again to be told the original fault had caused a loop fault, they did not ring me back to tell me this. They threatened me when I said I wanted the remainder of my money back. Would never go with them again. BEWARE it may look like a good deal, but when your not getting the service for at least half of the agreement, it’s quite an expensive option.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bradford Origin  
Terrible company!! Overbilled me when i switched provider, they then said i couldn't have the money back as they wanted me to return the router. No other provider as ever asked me to return the router, they said they will bill me for £40.00 for the router. I told them to keep the refund and have complained to the ombudsman. You call up and are on hold for 20-30 mins, its shocking. They should be closed down, but Ofcom / Ombudsman never monitor this company or even check the reviews on them. It says online that they are expanding, but i never know how they are getting any new customers. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!
Wednesbury Origin  
I've been with a few different ISP's over the years and Origin are by far the worse.
I pay for 76mb fibre broadband. I've just submitted them a reading of 0.5mb on the download and 1.3mb on the upload, mind you that was quite fast - it's been as low as 0.13mb download speed.
This has been going on since I had the contract and I've spent countless hours on the phone, talking of which I've now been waiting for over an hour. Again.
This is how an Origin Broadband customer spends their evening.
The only positive thing I can say is it's UK call centres (based in Doncaster) and the staff are very friendly.
I used to be with Sky and I'm hoping I can get out of this contract and go back with them even thou they are slightly more expensive.
Currently looking to make a complaint with the ombudsman of which I've never done in my life but that should give you an idea of how bad it is.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dudley Origin  
Dreadful company.
Internet is down/slow more often than working.
Can't get through on the phone unless you're prepared to spend upto an hour on hold.
Staff are clueless unless you have a standard question and are argumentative.
Billing department haven't a clue what they're doing. They 'lost' my bank details 6 months into contract and cannot explain why they've now taken a 'First payment' in the month my contract is due to expire (thankfully) and are arguing the expiry date. (Jan to Jan i 12months in my book, in theirs it goes beyond to August ?!)
I can't wait to be rid of this bunch of monkeys.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cheshire Origin  
Really not happy with the service provided by Origin. Everything was slow and unreliable from the start, it took over a month from first contact to getting an internet connection. Despite being quoted 10-14 days, after 15 days there was no information at all so I had to contact them only to find out essentially nothing had been achieved during that time.

Then even after the internet had been connected, we experienced low line speeds and frequent drop outs, in addition to the fact the router they sent was extremely unreliable on WiFi (wired ethernet worked better). I called up several times about the low sync speeds and there was some progress but we never really improved much towards what they said our line was capable of.

I don't know how many hours of my life I have spent in a queue for customer service with Origin, but I think I have lost a significant chunk of my year trying to obtain a decent connection.

I would not recommend Origin, the cheap price is definitely not worth it. Spend a little more to get reliable internet and customer service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Origin  
Buyers Beware. Without question the worst company and customer services, I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. I cancelled my broadband from Origin back in November. They continued to take payments from my bank account for another 2 months. Upon discovery, I cancelled the direct debit and called Origin, to which I was told they knew all about the cancellation. . I was told they cannot just electronically transfer the money back to me and that I would have to wait 7-14 days for a cheque to arrive. 2 weeks later I received yet another bill for the forthcoming month. Yet, another phone call to Origin to re cancel the bill and ask about my pending refund and I find myself still waiting for it 3 weeks later.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Milton Keynes Origin  
As others have said, once they get your money they are not interested. I have been overcharged by Origin setting up a direct debit with my bank without telling me. I have written to them 5 times and they are totally ignoring me. If I phone them they promise to get back to me and don’t. Sadly, I have paid for 12 months service in advance and will now have to escalate the problem to the ombudsman.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Llancyl Origin  
New customer from Dec 17. Very slow speeds,nowhere near speeds advertized.
Costantly dropping connection. But isn't this all ISP's in the UK now. Customer service is very poor to none existent. Lied too and shouted at me. Customer service refuse give sir name so you don't know who you're talking to. Waiting over 25 mins to speak to someone . AVOID AT ALL COSTS. We need a shake up in this country with these cowboy, take your money and run,companies. All ISP's work on contract, so they immdiately are in breach of their own contract as soon as they don't provide what their contract says it does.So you are not obligated as soon as this happens and can sue for breach of contract.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
lancashire Origin  
Where do I start? This is a company which seems to fail on every level when it comes to customer service. Once they have your money they are not interested. I have been trying to get a refund for 10 months after they took over my service without my permission. No apology, no refund now going to OFCOM and then the leagal route if this fails. Avoid this company at all costs!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
North Yorkshire Origin  
Origin broadband is rubbish it said my line could do 70mbs was only getting 15 , they lie they steal no wonder they are cheap I gone with a small company they are great
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Origin  
After 100 days without Broadband Origins offer of a compensation was a paltry £30. When you consider they had raided my bank account for over 3 times that amount during the same period, it demonstrates the contempt they have for their customers. Tech support won't answer the phone and complaints just spout platitudes
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Somerset Origin  
Terrible provider. Useless service, useless customer service. Slow as a snail broadband. In the middle of complaints procedure gave ME a deadline for reply, after waiting weeks between replies from them. Avoid at all costs!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ipswich Origin  
Terrible services, The broadband is barely there. If you manage to watch a video on the lowest quality on youtube without constant buffering then it is a miracle. No support whatsoever, waited on the phone for 2h and no one answered. They started charging me illegally 18 pounds per month on top of what i have already paid due to "mistake in the system". It is the worst provider i have come across. It was a big mistake going with Origin
London Origin  
My experience of this company has been diabolical. I Joined in August.. and eventually went live towards the end of September... sorry it was actually October when I received my router!! And what did I have then? A congestion issue, basically the company that claims to not slow your speeds had slowed my speeds and at peak times my service that is normally 63Mbps was down to 0.8Mbps!! Which is absolutely laughable!!
I then raised a complaint which took ages to deal with and staff in that useless team tried to fob me of with tech support who were unable to do anything! I cancelled my direct debit as I was not willing to pay for a service I have not received!
Eventually the complaints team agreed to terminate my contract and refused to refund me any money!! There reasoning behind this was because I had a landline connection! I only had landline because it is needed for the broadband!

THEN ONCE I HAD LEFT THEY ILLEGALLY SET UP A DIRECT DEBIT AND I HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED BY MY BANK! LUCKILY THEY HAVE REJECTED THE MANDATE! PLEASE AVOID THIS AWFUL FRAUDULENT COMPANY!!

I have now moved to Sky who are a much better company and I cannot fault them!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Newcastle Origin  
Big mistake I made going with origin.
Check the complaints every day on their facebook page before you too make the mistake.
Poor service all round & unaurthorised taking of monies from accounts.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Manchester Origin  
The worst service provider I have ever experienced. They should be banned selling services like this. Thank god my one year is over as I paid full year in advance. From day 1 problem, slow connect, crackly phone line, broadband disconnection.

If you want to speak to someone about it, you can forget it, wait for 2 hours on the phone, yet your problem will not be resolved. Email them and you wait months just to get a reply.

Stay away from this company at all cost. I had to use the ombudsman and they always find them as useless, in responsive.

Move to another provider who will pay your exit fees if you are paying monthly.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Origin  
I have been with Origin for 14 months so though I should update my earlier scathing review.

Broadband speed is still good and has always been at the top end, or above, of the promised speed. Reliability has also been good. On both of these issues Origin have been better than previous providers BT & Post Office.

On customer service (excluding billing), they have improved considerably. The difficulties getting through to them have gone away and the responses have been okay.

On the billing they re still a confusing mess, although they have never actually overcharged me. They will send you an email stating that there is a bill available an quoting the amount. This is occasionally wrong (4 times in 14 months), but they seem to get it sorted out without prompting and if you log in a few days later they have replaced the bill with a correct one. This can cause extra confusion as they seem to replace the original bill having completely deleted the original, so when you ring them up quoting a copy of the bill (that you had the foresight to save) a few days later, the customer service person seems to have no knowledge of the original document and only know about the replacement. If you are going to ring up and complain, get a new copy immediately before ringing them as the problem may have been sorted.

Overall recommended, but only if you have the patience to cope with the admin.

Finally, by way of indication of confidence, I recommended to my daughter to change to Origin (don't believe the web comments about the £25 introduction bonus as there seems to be no way to claim it) and she is now happy, but had to endure two installation delays, one the fault of Origin (you DO have to be at home on go-live day, even if they ell you you don't) and the other the fault of Openreach. Plus, of course, the second bill is incorrect!
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
South Leicesershire Origin  
Awful experience! Avoid if possible.

It takes around 45 min to go speak with someone if you have any issues, and around 1h30min until you can speak with the right person in the right department.

It took us more than a month to have the line up and running. We have been having cut offs for the last 6 months and still unresolved. Avoid!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Hove Origin  
Worst experience ever. Broadband cuts out on a daily basis. Have been complaining about it for the past six months, they have now stopped replying to the complaint. The best thing is you cant cancel whilst a complaint is ongoing, so by not replying they manage to block us from leaving!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Oxford Origin  
Exceptionally poor service. Ineffective at dealing with slow speeds (at 6-7mbps vs. advertised 38mbps every single day). At this point I have endured a month of brick wall responses. If you are thinking of dealing with this provider, move along as they are pathetically poor.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
Swindon Origin  
If you've read this far down this page you've heard it all before. Like many others I made a mistake in not reading the reviews before signing up to the great sounding £154.99 for 12 months deal ... Should have known better.
Ridiculous problems getting the service started when after not hearing anything about my installation date for weeks, a 50 minute wait on the customer service line led to them telling me my address didn't exist...what?!
Then sent email telling me 'Great news... your internet will be connected on January 1st 2018' ( this was in August 2017) .

Having spoken again several times to them, finally received a date...but contradictory information about whether an engineer would or wouldn't need access to the house. Internet wasn't connected until several days later, and only after. ALOT of fiddling around with various settings etc

Five months in & internet cuts out frequently, unable to watch a film without having to reconnect internet a minimum of 3-5 times per film.

I also received an email saying my direct debit of £20.99 was going to be processed on a particular date....having paid 12 months upfront as a one off purchase I never set up a direct debit!!!! So was very cross to find one had been set up with my bank. Obviously cancelled this immediately. I still get monthly emails saying they will be taking £0 from my bank....


All in all the service is pretty appalling. The one & only good thing I can say is that when I have finally got through to speaking to anyone on the phone they have been polite, if a little exasperated (unsurprisingly) but unfortunately the actions they have said they'll take rarely come to pass.

I would strongly recommend avoiding this ISP if you value your sanity and money...the seemingly impressive savings suggested by the upfront price will quickly be eliminated by the time you spend on the phone trying to fix problems or lying on the psychiatrists chair with clumps of hair in your hand.....
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
LEWES Origin  
Wow I am staggered at the appalling service from Origin.
I first alerted them to drop outs/instability issues in November and they did nothing for over a month. They called me whilst I was away to say the problem was finally resolved but when I got home I had no connection at all.
I have been lied to, left without connection over Xmas, been on hold for over an hour on multiple occasions and have not received answers to my emails or phone calls.
DO NOT USE this company at any time as you WILL NOT receive a broadband connection but will receive a lot of grey hairs trying to put things right
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bath Origin  
Moved to origin 5 month ago. Took the 38 Mbps fibre optic. However the speed recorded over a period of several days was 1.5 mbts with ethernet cable. Internet connection keeps cutting off. Apalling. My previous provder with normal broadband was much better than Origin. It is a rip off. I also took the anytime phone package. However unable to check itemised phone calls on the online service. Customer service seems to be ok at times but sometimes I had to wait for an hour. I will not renew with Origin again. Worse provider I had.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sheffield Origin  
Origin should be barred from the industry. But the industry needs a huge shake up. Openreach controls the infrastructure, 'providers' deliver the illusion of competition; in reality they are another layer of protection to BT Openreach's accountability for infrastructure failure. OfCom needs a new set of dentures.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
Jedburgh Origin  
A terrible company and a terrible service. Hours spent on the phone. Service lost for days at a time. Service lost for 6 days once and they can't seem to understand why anyone would have a problem with that!! I would be very surprised if anyone has ever stayed beyond thir first year.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lancashire Origin  
I have had 2 experiences with Origin, at our old address had no problems, speed was good, never cut out, never needed to call support.
At the new address was totally different, speeds were awful, connection dropped multiple times a day (1MB-33MB, suppose to get 75MB) Took 4 months, over 10 calls before finally making an official complaint, it was complaints that confirmed there was a fault, not tech support, not 2nd line tech support but complaints, if you can believe that.
Asked them repeatedly for a static IP address, never got one.
There was always a 30 second delay before establishing a connection when trying upload or download files, origin claimed it was my server in germany that was the problem. Spent months trying to improve performance because I thought the problem was my server.
We switched to plusnet 4 days ago, same line, same phone number but now we get 75MB solid DL speed, connection never drops and low and behold, instant connection when uploading and downloading files to my server.
They are the most useless, rubbish ISP I have ever had to deal with and I have dealt with alot of them, I am so glad we switched to someone who can actually fulfill the contract terms, unlike these amateurs.

Do yourself a favour, if you are having problems switch providers, if you are considering switching to origin, don't, you will regret it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
UK Origin  

Loading...

  • 757 reviews, showing page 7 of 19, skip to page 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Origin are not affiliated with Broadband.co.uk. This page does not constitute any affiliation between Broadband.co.uk and Origin.

Broadband.co.uk